Foreign Affairs – Markets of Lore

I went to the local Farmer’s Market today. It is almost July, but the local foods were slim pickings. We have bulbous Spring onions, some small peaches, baskets of apples the size of a toddler’s fist, a few damp lettuces and bunches of the everlasting sturdy Swiss chard. To ease the sense of overhanging exasperation at what the concept of seasonal local eating really means in many places (except for those places we deign ‘Paradise’) I took to shuffling through my postcards to find some different marketplaces of past times. Mexico, England, Morocco, and Fiji. Which one would you want to visit first?

4 thoughts on “Foreign Affairs – Markets of Lore

  1. I want to visit all of them! But if I had to choose just one, it would be Tangier. Visiting northern Africa, I believe would be a wonderful experience; the food, the smells, the people, the sights! One of my favorite Bon Appetit issues was its Mediterranean one, where they sampled recipes from around that part of the world. It is the most used, most dog-eared, oily-fingered edged magazine I have, but worth it!

  2. I actually went the casbah in Morocco. I was a teen, and the locals liked to swarm the Americans. Plus, the meats are hung just like a fresh kill. It was a little frightening. Wish i was there now 🙂

Leave a Reply

