Let’s Stop Beeting Around The Bush Here

I’ve been surprised more than once by quite ‘aged’ postcards which give off a close parody, if not a definite resemblance, to what we call ‘pop art’. The ‘Beet It’ card above was one of those surprises.

Here we have Master Somebody-or-Other, a little man-boy set in the center of two beets (woooof that would be strange to have happen to one!) being urged to ‘Beet It’. He does not seem overly concerned, even though his pants are short and even though his boots seem to resemble bent Tootsie-Rolls. Maybe it is because his collar is so tight – could it be giving a Botox-like assistance to the muscles of his face? And in the manner of so many of Henry James’ male romantic protagonists, his hands have been shoved into his pockets.

That one movement says it all, to me. There must be a girl around. A girl he likes. Because this is what Henry James’ romantic male protagonists do when faced with this strange thing . . . they stick their hands in their pockets.

Why, exactly, they do this is up for debate. I can think of a few reasons, myself, but who really cares. They are in a book, not in real life. And besides, we are here to talk about food, not about little boys stuck inbetween the two large purple vegetables of their imaginations, trying to figure out how they can win a way out of this incredible situation.

Beets, to me, are an all-year long vegetable. You can eat the roots, the leaves, both together – you can pickle them or do just about a million things to them if you happen to like them. I do.

It surprised me a bit to discover they are in the amaranth family. But even that doesn’t scare me off. There is always something new to do with beets, aside from confusing them with imaginary barriers to life unfolding. I may just try some of these recipes. If you like beets, you might like to, too!

4 thoughts on “Let’s Stop Beeting Around The Bush Here

  1. Adore the post card and he reminds me of old photo’s we have of my family during their stay at Ellis Island. The little “Master” seems well fed but I prefer to focus on the beets! One of my favorite foods and I love them pickled in salads and pretty much mix their stems with dandelion leaves and Vlita boiled tender in two minutes, doused with good grade Cretan Olive Oil and lots of lemon.

    The post card reminded me of three little shops in a small “stoa” located in downtown Athens, Monastiraki district. There were boxes filled with such postcards. Thousands of them. Wish now I had paid more attention so I could have sent you some.

    Adore the post, as always!
    Penelope

  2. Your recipe sounds delicious, as always, Penelope! šŸ™‚

    I’ve always been more interested in the people ‘around’ the food than in the food itself, therefore my usual wandering off to talk about ‘the little master’ or his counterparts in any given situation. I ‘like’ the food, but ‘love’ the people parts. Food just happens to be a vocabulary I know well, that I can use as a lens.

    Of course as well as being a lens it is also a set of armor. Capable of protecting one as one walks steadily into battle . . . and/or shielding one from having to pull out the sword and swing at things with no barrier inbetween the self and the word. šŸ˜€

  3. When I was in college in Minnesota, the campus lay downwind from a sugar-beet processing plant & good heavens, the smell! It took me years to get over my revulsion at even the mention of beets. Now, if I’d had someone make the connection between Pop Art, Beets, & Henry James sooner, I might have been enjoying this root vegetable for much, much longer. Terrific connection, Ms. Resta, I’m still chuckling (and oddly craving beets!)

Leave a Reply

