Weltschmerz and the Not-So-Single Postcard

It all started with Dwell magazine. Or rather, it started with a comment left on my facebook page by someone after I’d re-linked to an elegant, slim-volumed, minimalistic, adorably vicious blog which does out-takes from Dwell with a different twist.

I can’t decide at the moment whether this post at the blog Unhappy Hipsters is my current fav or whether it might have to be this one. Each one has its own certain charm!

But my friend (whom I call Sir Charles for that is what he is like in ways even though in regular life he is not a Sir but then neither is he a Charlie) was moved to leave a comment about how he (who everyone normally would think of as  being in the group defined as ‘hipsters’) would not mind at all living in any one of those houses even if it meant enduring soul numbing weltschmerz.

His comment startled me for I had thought weltschmerz was a type of sausage. There are many words throughout life I’ve avoided learning the meanings of, but of which, sooner or later, I’m faced with having to do so. ‘Hegemony’. That was a big one. I still feel like pulling out a large sword and decapitating any person who says it in my presence. It infuriates me. ‘Weltschmerz’ was one of these words. Though it doesn’t leave me wanting a sword but rather, a large cave to hide in.

I asked people what it meant, and got a variety of answers – including the right one. Something to put on your hair was mentioned, and I seemed to remember a poodle that was a weltschmerz. An excellent video clip was provided by another friend (which you can view at the end of this post), and a cousin of Fred and Ethel Mertz was brought to light.

Now that I know what the word means, I realize that I have experienced weltschmerz, and it has been right here in the postcard world.

There are an amazing amount of postcards which rouse me to this feeling – or should I say drop me spinning and falling without recourse or defense – into this feeling.

So, this week, while thinking of Dwell magazine and musing on Unhappy Hipsters, I’m going to serve up weltschmerz on a plate.

As time allows, I’ll be posting the most weltschmerz-inspiring postcards I have. Likely without commentary. It’s enough, just to look.

Here’s the video clip.

6 thoughts on “Weltschmerz and the Not-So-Single Postcard

    1. Unhappy Hipsters is hilarious isn’t it?! As to weltschmerz, I’m not sure it’s hilarious all on its own, but then again things that are so very grim often, with a quick turn of the prism, can be uproariously funny. 😉

Leave a Reply

