Tupperware – Is it all about the Party?

Tupperware has had an interesting history that goes beyond its famous ‘burp’. But the most fascinating thing about Tupperware, to me, is the parties. I’ve always heard of ‘Tupperware parties’ yet have never been to one. They seem to represent solid suburbia in an iconic way.

I don’t use Tupperware . . . my food storage is done with this and that and the other thing, at home. I do use plastic containers to send my kids’ lunches to school with them

(this one has fried rice with shrimp and a couple of little sides)

I ran across a few things this week I might like to put in some Tupperware for storage . . . there were these Lebanese pastries

(which are now all gone, and which were utterly delicious!) and there was this cake – which might have been interesting to bring to a Tupperware party

This was in the bakery department of my local supermarket. I don’t know which part of the cake I would most want to save . . .  I really wish I’d bought the thing, in retrospect.

Maybe I’ll go back to see if they still have it. Or another one like it?

7 thoughts on “Tupperware – Is it all about the Party?

  1. Lovely postcard. There is a type of hand-woven basket that is traditionally made here in Burundi called by some (americans) ‘tupperward’, because it is made so that you can pop the top off. I’ll take some pix and put them up on FB or on my site.

    Diana

      • Hi Karen,

        I’ve been missing you and hoping all is going well. Re Tupperware: one of my favorite scenes from the disaster movie parody “Airplane!” is Peace Corps worker Julie Hagerty “educating” African women on how Tupperware “keeps hot dog buns fresh for days!”

        Looking forward to more Postcards when you have time …

  2. interesting that you have never been to a tupperware party! not that you missed out on much – my mother dragged us to a few, given by some very suburbia-grounded greek immigrant housewives; they were a chance for me and my siblings to play with other greek children and even now, i still have some tupperware from that era, handed down to me by mother, probably bought at one of those functions

Leave a Reply

