Mr. Figley’s Terribly Un-PC Wienerwurst

There does seem to be a theme developing on this blog over the past few posts, doesn’t there. I assure you it is not intentional!!

This postcard celebrates hot dogs, or ‘wienerwurst’ which is the same thing, more or less. It looks as if even way back all those years ago, there were questions raised as to what exactly goes into this type of sausage. Mr. Butcher there is sharpening his knives happily, ready to grab the cute little dog and chop him up!

There was no message on the back of this card. Was the front part message ‘enough’ to send to Mr. Figley from the sender? Was this a warning, a veiled threat? Maybe Mr. Figley would be next.

I leave you with these thoughts of Mr. Figley and his Terribly Un-PC weinerwurst and with a passage from H.L. Mencken on the perennial American favorite: the hot dog.

I devoured hot-dogs back in Baltimore ‘way back in 1886, and they were then very far from newfangled . . . They contained precisely the same rubber, indigestible pseudo-sausages that millions of Americans now eat, and they leaked the same flabby, peurile mustard. Their single point of difference lay in the fact that their covers were honest German Wecke made of wheat-four baked to crispness, and not the soggy rolls prevailing today, of ground acorns, plaster-of-Paris, flecks of bath-sponge, and atmospheric air all compact.

I bet you’re glad I didn’t include a recipe.

14 thoughts on “Mr. Figley’s Terribly Un-PC Wienerwurst

  1. Hello Karen,
    I’m in the final throes of preparing the White – Festival of Postcards, and in fact it should go online tomorrow.
    I notice you’ve redesigned your site and I wonder whether you realize that at least on some computers your post appears but the postcards are snapped in half. The left side shows but not the right.
    Evelyn in Montreal

    • Evelyn, it’s good to hear from you – I’ll enjoy taking a look at tomorrow’s festival at your blog. Yes, I do know that the postcards are clipped off . . . I’ve been trying an assortment of different themes and after hours of re-designing last night decided to leave this theme up to see how much I like it (or not) but the postcards from the previous posts would have to be re-sized to fit, individually! :o

      This month the blog will have several new things going on – the first being a different way of sorting/categorizing the cards to better purpose my means, the second . . . well, you’ll see an example of the second thing in the next post, which should be up on Wednesday. Uh . . . I’m not sure what to say about it except that it will be ‘different’. Ha ha ha!

      I haven’t submitted anything for your White Festival because I’m trying to focus on writing a book, and really seriously can only do one thing well at a time. Will stop by though!! Thanks for your note. :)

  2. This is so strange, Karen! I just paid for an item on eBay, and one of the “Don’t miss these related items” that eBay presents on the “Thank you for your payment” screen caught my eye, so I clicked on it. The item is: 1910 postcard Greetings from WEST MILLGROVE OHIO

    http://cgi.ebay.com/1910-postcard-Greetings-from-WEST-MILLGROVE-OHIO_W0QQitemZ380200296548QQcategoryZ0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp4012.m506QQ_trkparmsZalgo%3DNGRI%26its%3DI%26itu%3DUA%26otn%3D12%26ps%3D63

    Here is the strange part – I looked at the image which showed both the front and the back, and I noticed that the postcard was addressed to none other than your Mr. James Figley! As if that isn’t coincidental enough, we now officially enter what my sister Susan and I call the “Miracle Zone”: The handwriting on the eBay card is an exact match with your sausage card! Now you know that the sender of the sausage postcard was Arlie. Note that Arlie is directing Jim Figley to please attend the 4th of July celebration in Rising Sun, since Fostoria is not going be celebrating the 4th. I’ll bet there were some yummy hotdogs and sausages served in Risingsun* on that holiday!

    *Rising Sun is currently spelled as one word. USPS.com says that the village is Risingsun, Ohio. It is a tiny incorporated village on the eastern edge of Wood County, perhaps best known as the place where Lillian Gish made her acting debut. — Leo

Leave a Reply

